Finding Your Happy Moment

Do you ever wake up grouchy for no reason? That was me today! I just oh-so-slightly resembled Oscar the Grouch, except I’m not green and don’t live in an aluminum trash can. Now that I think about it….maybe Oscar had a reason to be a little grouchy? Hmmm. Anyway, I decided to bake a cake. Baking usually cheers me up. I fumbled around through some notebooks for a recipe that I had written down. I recently discovered it on http://www.pinterest.com . It is very similar to a Depression Era (I LOVE old recipes!) cake recipe that I was looking at from another recipe site. I was intrigued by it because it called for no butter or eggs. It was so simple to make and baked in just 35 minutes. Soon the house filled with the aroma of chocolate. That sure was mood uplifting! Even better was that moist, dark chocolate-ty, sweet first bite, which was soon followed by a cool sip of fresh milk. I was not going to be rushed eating my piece of cake. I wanted to savor every single bite. By the time the last bite was finished and the last bit of powdered sugar had fallen on my plate, the days worries had disappeared and I was ready for whatever busyness and adventures my new day would hold.

Food is such a wonderful thing. It can lift moods, bring back fond memories of loved ones, educate us on ways of life, give comfort, express our emotions to friends or family, and bring people together.

I am so thankful for all the recipes that have been passed down throughout the years, and I’m especially thankful for the easy access we have here in the United States to such wonderful recipes. Do you have a favorite recipe? What are some things that you do that you know will bring you a happy moment (or two, or three…)?

I encourage you all to find those happy moments in life. Some days it’s harder to find them than other days, but they are always there. If you don’t know what your happy moment is, find it! If you do, find a little time in your day to enjoy it.

Viventem in Momento!

~ Veronica

Leave a Reply

